top of page

Writer's Flop

I rolled my pencil back and forth on the table, trying to think of a good first sentence that would grab a person's attention. This was my first attempt at writing a novel, and I wanted it to be an exciting one. I had already planned so much in my head. It was about a girl named Grace who went to a special school made for perfecting your talents. Her talent would be that she's really good with animals, especially horses, and can speak to them. The book (entitled Horses and Heroes) was basically about her life at the boarding school.

I had written stories before, but not like this. Those were comics with stick figures and silly plots. This is what I hoped to possibly publish some day. There was only one problem: I'd never been to school before. I've been homeschooled my whole life.

Well, let's see how far I get. I thought.

I wrote about 50 notebook pages before I realized I had no idea what I was doing.

And that concluded my first failed attempt at writing.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page