top of page

Ninjago: Sons of Garmadon Rant

**If you liked Ninjago Season 8, you probably don't want to read this. These are purely my opinions; I don't want to offend anybody!**


**SPOILERS FOR NINJAGO SEASON 8 AHEAD**


Okay, this is going to be long.

I've been a Ninjago fan ever since the pilot episodes came out. So you can imagine my disappointment when the show creators rebooted the characters' looks. The faces I grew up watching had been radically changed to the point of almost looking like different characters. They also never really explained why their looks changed. Sure, there's the time travel thing, but when Kai and Nya returned from the past in season 7, no one's appearance had changed. Also, if something changed in the past had somehow altered their looks, then why do they have their original looks in the pictures from previous seasons in the background (on the Bounty, for example)?

Also, some of their personalities just...changed. Basically, Kai's personality was given to Nya, and Kai is just left to be a lame comic relief character. And Zane!? He's not supposed to have an obvious sense of humor! Lloyd's personality change I actually kinda liked, though. He's a lot less annoying and his new voice is actually nice.

But back to my rant.

Oh, boy, don't even get me started on the whole "resurrecting Garmadon" thing! He. Was. Not. Originally. EVIL!! The venom from the Great Devourer was what turned him evil. And that was resolved at the end of Legacy of the Green Ninja. WAY BACK IN SEASON TWO!! Sure, one could argue that only the evil parts of him were resurrected, but parts of a person don't make up a whole person. Garmadon didn't have two separate personalities.

Another thing, some of the stuff in Sons of Garmadon just didn't feel like Ninjago. There was a significant amount of story that took place in a bar. The episode where Zane went undercover as Snake Jaguar was super cringe-y. The members of the Sons of Garmadon themselves looked like thugs who went to a costume party. Major Ninjago villains have never looked that gang-esque before.

And what happened to Ray and Maya? They just disappeared after season 7 without an explanation.

Probably the only thing I liked about this season other than the changes in Lloyd was Harumi. She actually had a really good backstory. I thought that adding a villain from the Ninjas' televised past was pretty cool. And it also explored the reality that some of their victories didn't go without a cost. I didn't like the idea of Lloyd having a love interest, so I liked the way Harumi broke his heart by stabbing him in the back. (I do feel kinda bad for admitting that, but it's true. Go ahead. Call me cruel.)

Don't think just because I wrote a long rant about one season means I don't like Ninjago. Like I said before, I grew up with the show. I loved it when it first came out and I still love it. But almost every story has its low points.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Bit of an Update

As you may have noticed, I changed a few things on the site, and I wanted to follow up with this. I've kinda...lost my interest in...

Comentarios


bottom of page